Building Knowledge for a Concerted and Sustainable Approach to Refugee Resettlement in the EU and its Member States

Establishment of the European Refugee Fund 2008-2013 (DECISION No 573/2007/EC)

European Parliament and Council


Decision No 573/2007/EC of the European Parliament and of the Council of 23 May 2007 establishing
the European Refugee Fund for the period 2008 to 2013 (OJ L 144, 6.6.2007, p. 1).


General themes

The general objective of the European Refugee Fund (ERF) is to support and encourage the efforts made by the Member States in receiving refugees and displaced persons by co-financing the actions provided for in this Decision. It outlines eligible actions in the Member States, community actions, emergency measures, as well as target groups, principles for assistance, the financial framework, and management and control systems.


Concerning resettlement, the European Council calls for the development of Regional Protection Programmes, as well as a joint resettlement programme for the Member States.

The ERF will support the efforts made by Member States to provide protection to refugees and displaced persons identified as eligible for resettlement by the UNHCR, i.e. the actions that the Member States implement to assess the resettlement needs and transfer the persons concerned to their territories, with a view to granting them a secure legal status and to promoting their effective integration.

Geographic target

The Decision emphasizes the strategic use of resettlement from countries or regions designated for the implementation of Regional Protection Programmes. The ERF will provide additional financial support for the resettlement of persons from the Western Newly Independent Sates and sub-Saharan Africa (designated in the Communication from the Commission to the European Parliament and the Council on regional protection programmes of 1 September 2005 and the Council Conclusions of 12 October 2005), and from any other countries or regions that are so designated in the future.

Vulnerable categories

Member States can also apply for funding to help implement resettlement programmes, and can seek 4,000 Euro per resettled person provided the refugee belongs to one of the four vulnerable categories eligible: persons from a country or region designated for the implementation of a Regional Protection Programme; unaccompanied minors; children and women at risk, particularly from psychological, physical or sexual violence or exploitation; persons with serious medical needs that can only be addressed through resettlement (art.13).

Files attached to this content:

Commission Decision No 573/2007/EC